• Follow me on Twitter

  • Blog Stats

    • 20,286 hits
  • Archives

  • June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

The Heat Is On

I mean that literally as I sit here at home nursing yet another cold, the second of the year! As I look out the window whilst taking care of some things since I won’t be going to work today, it is rainy, gray, and quite cool for this time of year! The calendar shows June 6, but the temperature feels like early Spring and our furnace is still running when it should have been turned off for the season. As a matter of fact, there will be more snow coming down in the mountains today and tomorrow which is very weird. Our temps have been running about 10 – 15 degrees below normal for weeks. Now I don’t seem to sound like I am bitching about it because quite frankly I like the cool weather, but my fellow Washingtonians (including my wife and some friends) are getting pretty sick of the gloom! When we do get our heat wave(s), if we do this year, they’ll be first at the gripe box about how hot it is and why haven’t we bought that air conditioner yet!! Does this mean global warming doesn’t exist or is taking some time off? I don’t think so! This is just a temporary weather glitch we are experiencing and these glitches will happen more frequently as the atmosphere continues to warm. Everywhere else seems to be under the heat lamp much earlier this year. I’ll enjoy this wonderful weather while I can so excuse me for now, I have to blow my noise and cough up some phlegm!

Leave a Reply

